About the Journal

Bernhard H. Bayerlein (Institute for Social Movements, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany)
Gleb J. Albert (Department of History, University of Zurich, Switzerland)

Focus and Scope

The International Newsletter of Communist Studies, existing since 1993, is an information bulletin and online journal dedicated to the various branches of historical and social sciences which are committed to the history of communist and respective left movements, ideas and regimes. It is aimed at scholars and publicists, archivists and librarians, teachers and students, and everyone else interested in the subject. Since 2015, the journal is published with support of the Institute of Social Movements and the Library of the Ruhr University Bochum.

The International Newsletter contains presentations of projects in progress, reports on archival problems, information on noteworthy archival projects, fonds and institutions, reviews and presentations of new publications, information about current events, conferences and meetings, a survey of periodicals, a list of noteworthy online ressources concerning communist studies. The International Newsletter also publishes materials and studies of regional and biographical character, on institutions, ideas and cultural currents related to the history of Communism and the radical Left. An integral part of the International Newsletter is the International Bibliography on Communist Studies, compiling recent woldwide publications on the research subject. Every year it covers over 500 publications from over 40 countries.

An important focus of the International Newsletter is to keep track of the opening processes of the archives in Russia and many other European countries. We consider the "Archival revolution", which was triggered by the implosion of the Soviet Union and the Eastern Bloc, to be a key event in historical science, providing numerous opportunities to re-evaluate the history of Communism in particular and of 20th century Europe and the world in general. This is why the International Newsletter feels obliged to present the proceeds of archival research to the scientific community in every way possible.

The International Newsletter is always looking forward to collaborate with the international scientific community. You are encouraged to contact us with your suggestions and information.

If you want to stay updated about current issues and information, please sign up to the Newsletter mailinglist.

Board of Correspondents / Advisory Board

Board of Correspondents

Lars Björlin (Stockholm)
Kasper Braskén (Åbo)
Hernán Camarero (Buenos Aires)
Cosroe Chaqueri † (Paris)
Sonia Combe (Paris)
Mathieu Denis (Montréal)
Jean-François Fayet (Geneva)
Jan Foitzik (Berlin)
Daniel Gaido (Córdoba, Argentina)
José Gotovitch (Bruxelles)
Sobhanlal Datta Gupta (Calcutta)
Gabriella Hauch (Linz)
John Haynes (Washington)
Victor Heifets (St. Petersburg)
Serhyi Hiryk (Kyiv)
Gerd-Rainer Horn (Coventry)
Jesper Jørgensen (Copenhagen)
Dainis Karepovs (São Paulo)
Kostis Karpozilos (Athens)
Fritz Keller (Vienna)
Todor Kuljič (Belgrade)
Norman LaPorte (Pontypridd)
Aruã Silva de Lima (Maceió)
Ottokar Luban (Berlin)
Kevin McDermott (Sheffield)
Brendan McGeever (London)
Kevin Morgan (Manchester)
Timur Mukhamatulin (Moscow)
Manfred Mugrauer (Wien)
Maria Luisa Nabinger (Rio de Janeiro)
José Pacheco Pereira (Lisbon)
Fredrik Petersson (Åbo/Stockholm)
Adriana Petra (Buenos Aires)
Aleksandr Reznik (St Petersburg)
Tauno Saarela (Helsinki)
Wolfgang Schlott (Bremen)
Uwe Sonnenberg (Potsdam)
Jérémie Tamiatto (Paris)
Carola Tischler (Berlin)
Reiner Tosstorff (Mainz)
Berthold Unfried (Vienna)
Raquel Varela (Lisbon)
Gerrit Voerman (Groningen)
Frank Wolff (Osnabrück)
Rolf Wörsdörfer (Darmstadt)

Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Aldo Agosti, Torino; Dr. Jürgen Danyel, Potsdam; Prof. Dr. José Faraldo, Madrid; Prof. Dr. Marc Ferro, Paris; Prof. Dr. Dietrich Geyer, Tübingen; Dr. Jens Gieseke, Potsdam; Prof. Dr. Lazar Heifets, St. Petersburg; Prof. Dr. Charles Kecskeméti, Paris; Prof. Dr. Avgust Lešnik, Ljubljana; Prof. Dr. Thomas Lindenberger, Potsdam; Prof. Dr. Richard Lorenz, Kassel; Prof. Dr. Kimmo Rentola, Helsinki; Prof. Dr. Jutta Scherrer, Paris/Berlin; Prof. Dr. Feliks Tych †, Warsaw; Prof. Dr. Marcel van der Linden, Amsterdam; Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hermann Weber †, Mannheim; Prof. Dr. Holger Weiss, Åbo; Prof. Dr. Serge Wolikow, Dijon

Founding Members: Dr. Claus Baumgart (Leipzig); Dr. Bernhard H. Bayerlein (Aachen/Lausanne); Prof. Dr. Marjan Britovšek † (Ljubljana); Prof. Dr. Pierre Broué † (Grenoble); Dr. Putnik Dajić (Belgrade); Gérard Donzé (La Chaux-de-Fonds); Prof. Dr. Fridrich Firsov (Boston); Dr. Jan Foitzik (Mannheim); Dr. Peter Huber (Basel); Prof. Dr. Avgust Lešnik (Ljubljana); Aurelio Martin Najera (Madrid), Dr. Jürgen Mothes † (Leipzig); Prof. Dr. Vera Mujbegović (Belgrade); Dr. Aleksandr Pantsov (Moscow), Dr. Dubravka Stajić (Belgrade); Prof. Dr. Brigitte Studer (Berne); Dr. František Svátek (Prague); Prof. Dr. Aleksandr Vatlin (Moscow); Dr. Zdeněk Vašíček † (Prague); Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hermann Weber † (Mannheim)